Fifty Years after the Cuban Missile Crisis: Science in Support of Nuclear Arms Control and Security

CISTP and the Center for Science Diplomacy at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) convened experts on October 4, 2012 in a not-for-attribution setting to address two key areas to seed new research: the technical challenges and opportunities for treaty verification; and the lessons from cooperative nuclear security for verification and confidence-building. 

For a summary with the highlights of the main discussion points of the workshop:  AAAS-GA Tech Worshop Summary.

View Video> (Runtime: 75:30 minutes)


AAAS news article by Edward W. Lempinen summarizing the event:  Fifty Years after the Cuban Missile Crisis, New Roles for S&T in Nuclear Arms Control

Public Panel Featured Speakers

Ambassador Tibor Tóth - Executive Secretary

Ambassador Tibor Tóth has been the Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) since 2005. Ambassador Tóth has been actively involved in international disarmament and nonproliferation issues for over three decades.


Dr. E. William Colglazier - Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State

Dr. E. William Colglazier was appointed in July 2011 as the fourth Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State. The mission of the Office of the Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary (STAS) is to provide scientific and technical expertise and advice in support of the development and implementation of U.S. foreign policy.

Workshop Sessions

Session 1:  "Technical Challenges and Opportunities for Treaty Verification", Discussants: Pierce Cordon, Kelsey Hartigan, Tibor Tóth

Session 2:  "Verification & Confidence-Building: Lessons from Cooperative Nuclear Security", Discussants: Glenn Schweitzer, Micah Lowenthal, William Colglazier

Photo Gallery from Reception, Dinner, Workshop, and Public Panel

Reception - Zach Zwald, Joe Bankoff,
Jarrod Hayes, Adam Stulberg
Graduate Students Phil Baxter, Lindsey Sheppard, Tong Zhao, John-Patrick Floyd Nolan Hertel and Zach Zwald
Sam Nunn Fellows Spencer Mickum and John-Patrick FloydTom Wang, AAAS Director for International Cooperation Jarrod Hayes
Round Table Discussion - Micah Lowenthal (NAS), John Swegle (Savannah River National Lab), Adam Stulberg, Liz DallasTom Wang and Vaughn Turekian (AAAS)Pierce Corden (AAAS) 
 Kensley Harrington (NTI) Tibor Tóth and Jean DupreWilliam Colglazier, Micah Lowenthal (NAS), John Swegle (Savannah River National Lab)
 Jeff Jay (Shaw Power Group) and William Colglazier Audience at Public Panel DiscussionAdam Stulberg, William Colglazier, and Tibor Tóth